Latest Stories

September 2018

Video Presentation

Ms. Ellen Chu, VIP chairperson presents their gifts to Ms. Doris Hsueh and Ms. Crystal Hsieh.

G12 Video Presentation

The 2018-19 Student Council officers serenading their teachers and staff.

From left: Ms. Rebecca Wu, Ms. Michelle Lopez, Ms. Christine Lai, and Ms. Annie Lin.

For more pictures, please click here.

A September to remember

Teachers Appreciation Day

Last September 26, 2018, a short program was held at the gymnasium to appreciate the hardworking teachers and staff of Dominican International School. The members of the 2018-19 Student Council led by their President, Ginny Hwang serenaded their teachers and staff by singing “Stand by me” to show respect and admiration for their unwavering support and for “standing-by” with students through the years.

The event was witnessed by the sisters headed by the Directress/principal Sr. Ma. Zenaida T. Ancheta, OP and the members of the Volunteer Involved parents (VIP).

Several grade twelve students led by the vice president of the Student Council, Jamie Lee prepared a video to show their high regard to their mentors and teachers. They took turns in doing “dub-smash” to the tune of Jason Mraz’s “Have it all”. They said that “We will never forget you, so don’t forget about us too.”

Similarly, the student council prepared their traditional appreciation video that featured some of the teachers and staff with the song “September” by Earth, Wind & Fire. It was really a September to remember.

Thank you cards were distributed by the class presidents to teachers and staff that bear thank you notes from their respective students. One teacher said, “It is really an inspiring and heartfelt thank you card.”

The event ended with Ms. Ellen Chu, VIP Chairperson leading the distribution of their gifts to teachers and staff. Although it was a short program, it was indeed a remarkable one.

From left: Ms. Carryll Hua, VIP Executive Committee member, Ms. Sophie Tsou, administrative assistant, Ms. Anne Portillo, MS & HS Guidance Counselor, Ms. Sydney Tsuo, VIP Executive Committee member, Ms. Megan Fraley, ELL Teacher, Ms. Sandy Lee, VIP Executive Committee member.